Awards, Honours and Celebrations..

We are very proud of the achievements of pupils, staff and the school as a whole..

Captain Brown’s retirement, 1978. Far left is Mr Trevor Dale (currently Vice Chair of Governors at FPS

Above: Retirement of Captain H Brown in 1978 after 29 years in post.


Above: Best Kept School 1991


Above: Mrs Joyce Ferguson acknowledged for 30 years’ service as Crossing Patrol Officer at FPS

04-05 Mrs Coates

Above: Mrs Dorothy Coates (VP, Retired). Teaching Awards Distinction 2005

Above: 2005: Peter Hain’s visit was televised to mark Finaghy PS’s transformation to a ‘full-service extended school’.


Above: Hillsborough Castle September 2008


Above: Mr Timmy Courtney, Caretaker: Building Supervisor of the Year 2008



Above: Mr Alastair Mackay: Headteacher of the Year 2006

Above: 2006:

Finaghy PS opened the first self-funded Breakfast Club in Belfast in 2004.

We were delighted to win Kelloggs Club of the Year in 2006.


2009: Finaghy PS celebrates 75 years of service to the community

2012: Blackboard Awards: Mr Kyle Platt – Outstanding Teacher (parent-nominated)




Above: Mr Peter Breene MBE

For Voluntary Services to Education 2013

Mr P Breene (as of 2018) remains Chair of FPS Board of Governors

Peter joined the board in 1978 and succeeded Canon J R Hall as Chair in 1988



Mr Trevor Dale MBE

For Voluntary Services to Education 2016

Trevor’s first child began Finaghy PS in 1969.

He joined the PTA in 1970, became Chair in 1974 and stepped down in 1987 (after several attempts!)

Trevor joined the governors in 1991 as Vice Chair, and currently remains in post (as of 2018)

Above: 2015: Mrs Edna Burns retires. Over many years Edna served the school as a cleaner and as a lunch and Breakfast Club supervisor.

Above: 2016: Tea party to mark HRH Queen Elizabeth’s 90th Birthday

Above: 2017: P7 Leavers



2016/17: £7000 raised for NI Guide Dogs, and two puppies named and adopted.


Above: Eco-School Green Flag 2017